How To Enable Ghost Mode In Snapchat App

johnboscoville

Administrator
Staff member
#1
Snapchat has constantly done something very unique with location. It makes use of your location to give you great filters for your stories. Snapchat has now included a new feature that gives you a chance to view your friends' stories by location. By default, every one of your stories is geo-tagged. If a story is very popular, it will appear on a map. You can use the map to discover popular stories around you and view them. Obviously, it is subject to your privacy settings. The good thing is Snapchat has given you an out on this feature. You can enable Ghost mode in Snapchat and keep current location off the map.

Viewing Map


Open Snapchat and swipe left to go to the Stories screen. Pinch inward on the screen and be watchful you don't accidentally tap on a story or suggested account. You will be taken to the Map screen.

You will see blue markers on the map for the popular nearby stories however you won't have the capacity to see them unless you're friends with whoever posted it. This is subject to the privacy settings of the person sharing snaps.



Enable The Ghost Mode Feature In Snapchat

On the map screen, tap the gear symbol at the top. You can enable Ghost mode in Snapchat from the settings screen that opens. When you have the Ghost mode enabled, your location is hidden while using the Snapchat App.



Or better still, you can tap your bitmoji avatar on the map. A little banner will show up at the bottom of the screen showing you the current photo you posted with your present location. Tap this banner and you will be taken to the same settings screen.

When you enable Ghost mode, your avatar's face vanishes. It is rather replaced with a blue version of the Snapchat logo which implies you are not sharing your present location.



When you're in ghost mode, the cog wheel symbol at the very top of the map screen gets a little ghost badge also.

Post To Map

You will also notice that the map screen has a button at the bottom. When you tap it, you change to the camera mode where you can take a snap, edit it, and so forth. When you share it, however, your photo shows up on the map provided you have Ghost mode disabled. You can decide to post the snap on your story however you can always share it with a particular friend rather than all your friends.

To the extent to which location goes, Snapchat incorporates it reasonably well in the application. Truth be told, it tries building features around it which, we're speculating, Facebook will duplicate in a month or two.
 

Attachments

Important Notice


We do not support the downloaded files and how to run content

LIKE OUR FACEBOOK PAGE

Top